Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomeAwardsAFI FEST 2017 Announced Audience And Jury Award Winners

AFI FEST 2017 Announced Audience And Jury Award Winners

This year The American Film Institute Festival (AFI FEST) celebrated its 50th anniversary. The festival took place on November 9-16. Over 100 films were shown during this time.

Here are some good movies to watch.

Director Matthew Porterfield struggled with time and money that was “a challenge for the film production”. This season he brought his new movie called Sollers Point. The film is about a drug dealer and the obstacles he faces.

Director Samuel D. Pollard ( Sammy Davis Jr.: I’ve Gotta Be Me) made a movie about brilliant performer  Sammy Davis Jr.. Sammy was well known for being a member of The Rat Pack.

I’ve Gotta Be Me is the story of the famous entertainer who faced racial discrimination back in the 1950s and 1960s.

Director Paolo Virzì presented his movie The Leisure Seeker starring Donald Sutherland and Helen Mirren.

Not to mention, famous actors Angelina Jolie, James Franco and Sofia Coppola appeared to discuss their latest movies.

Director Scott Cooper presented his new movie Hostiles (2017). The film is about American captain portrayed by Christian Bale.  Actor Rory Cochrane believes this movie shows different sides and different opinions, and empathy developed. His character suffers from Posttraumatic stress disorder. Actor Tommy Davidson was noticed among attendees. He said he was excited to be at the movie premiere.

International cinematograph was represented by  French-Lebanese drama The Insult (director Ziad Doueiri), Norwegian/Urdu drama What Will People Say (director:  Iram Haq), Russian movie Loveless (director Andrey Zvyagintsev), and many others.


Here is the full list of winners:

Audience Award – World Cinema

THE INSULT (director: Ziad Doueiri)


Audience Award – New Auteurs

WHAT WILL PEOPLE SAY (director:  Iram Haq)


Audience Award – American Independents

BODIED (director: Joseph Kahn)


Grand Jury Award for Live Action Short
GAZE (director:  Farnoosh Samadi)

 Grand Jury Award for Animated Short
THE BURDEN (director: Niki Lindroth von Bahr)

 Special Jury Mention
SILICA (director: Pia Borg)

The festival was presented by Audi.


Most Popular

Recent Comments